Champagne tourist route
The terroir of the Montagne de Reims ("Reims Mountain") gathers 10 of the 17 vineyard's villages classified as Grands Crus in Champagne.
The educational quarry of Mailly-Champagne is a reference site to observe and study the local geology. The tours are organized by the Parc Naturel Régional de la Montagne de Reims.
The great Champagne Houses
The Champagne was named after the region it comes from. The production area covers 79514 acres. It includes 319 villages or different wines, each with their own features. The patient research of the wine-growers of Champagne gave birth to a production method of effervescent wine which is considered the world's best by the specialists.
Champagne Ruinart (6mn by car)
The famous wine cellars of the Ruinart House are a fascinating sight: an impressive stairway dives more than 98 feet under the ground to a network of tunnels that end in old listed chalk quarries.
Champagne GH Mumm (7mn by car)
The GH Mumm House has been a symbol of Reims' wine-making history since the arrival of Georges Hermann Mumm in the 1850s. GH Mumm is nowadays a world reference for champagne, with 8 million bottles sold in 150 countries.
Champagne Pommery ( 7mn by car)
Every Champagne House has its own history, tradition and identity, but the Pommery House is one of a kind: it was created by an exceptional woman during the second half of the 19th century...
Champagne Veuve Cliquot (7mn by car)
The Veuve Cliquot House offers you to discover its beautiful chalk quarries. Those old quarries are a testimony to the history of the region. With its clear champagne, the Veuve Cliquot-Ponsardin brand is still a glorious symbol of champagne throughout the world.
Champagne Taittinger (5mn by car)
Since 1932, step by step, The House that would later become "Taittinger" has developed and won its place among the great Champagne Houses.
9 place Saint-Nicaise
Tél. : 03 26 85 45 35
Fax. : 03 26 85 84 05
Web : www.taittinger.fr
Champagne GH Martel (5mn by car)
The House opens now to the public its beautiful medieval chalk quarries, dug between the 4th and the 5th century, its Eco-museum of Champagne, and its buildings from the 18th century.
Champagne Lanson (3mn by car)
The Lanson House, created in 1760, is one of the oldest Champagne Houses. The tour starts with the presentation of the vineyard and allows you to attend to the production of the champagne in the active cellars.
The Villa Demoiselle (7mn by car)
The Villa Demoiselle, architectural symbol of Reims, is now reopened. It was built between 1904 and 1908 according to the architect Louis Sorel's plans. It is both Art Nouveau and Art Deco styles.
In 2004, Paul-François Vranken, CEO of the Vranken Champagnes, bought the Villa and started a restoration work that lasted almost 5 years. The old Demoiselle (104 years), headquarter of the Pommery House, rediscovered its youthful glow.
For details, reservations or any other question, please call us (+00 33 3 26 47 28 46) or use the Online Booking page